JOINT FINANCE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE MINUTES

Room 213, West Square Building, Baraboo WI

Friday, August 05, 2011

Finance Committee Members present: Steve Bach, Tommy Lee Bychinski, Joan Fordham, Jason Lane, William F. Wenzel Personnel Committee Members present: Andrea Lombard, Jason Lane, Tim Meister, Henry Netzinger, Peter Tollaksen Others present: Kerry Beghin, Marty Krueger, Todd Liebman, Michelle Posewitz

The meeting was called to order by Finance Committee Chairperson Bychinski and Personnel Committee Chairperson at 8:30 AM. Certification of open meeting compliance was given. Motion by Tollaksen to nominate Bychinski to serve as chair of the joint meeting, second by Fordham. Motion by Fordham to close nominations and unanimously elect Bychinski, second by Lane. Motion carried.

Motion by Tollaksen to adopt the agenda, second by Bach. Motion carried.

Public Comment: None.

Consideration and Discussion of WRS Contributions for Elected Officials.

Supervisor Meister did not participate in the discussion. There is no clear guidance whether the change in contribution for elected officials should be effective at the same time as employees or at the start of the next term of office. Atty Liebman has opined that requiring the elected officials to contribute now could be considered changing their compensation mid-term. Motion by Tollaksen, second by Lane to implement elected officials' contribution to retirement effective with the start of the next term of office. Unanimous aye vote by both committees, with Meister abstaining. Motion carried.

Consideration and Discussion of Resolution Authorizing the 2012 Adjustment for the Non-Represented Employees' Salaries Effective January 1, 2012.

Supervisor Meister took over Chairmanship of the meeting as Supervisor Bychinski did not participate in the discussion. The Committees discussed wage compression and the impact of prior year wage adjustments between bargaining groups and non-represented employees. Motion by Bach, second by Tollaksen to approve a 1% adjustment and suspension of merit, all effective January 1, 2012. Unanimous aye vote by both committees, with Bychinski abstaining. Motion carried.

Motion by Bychinski to adjourn the meeting, second by Lane. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Fordham Finance Committee Secretary Andrea Lombard Personnel Committee Secretary