## **RESOLUTION NO. \_\_\_\_ - 2018**

## Proclamation Recognizing the First Wednesday of April as Start by Believing Day in Sauk County

**Background:** Sauk County shares a critical concern for victims of sexual violence and a desire to support their needs for justice and healing. In 2017, the law enforcement agencies of Sauk County received a combined total of 159 reports of sexual assault; and Hope House of South Central Wisconsin served the needs of 224 Sauk County victims of sexual assault, including answering 1,066 crisis line calls from sexual assault victims, providing personal advocacy to 166 victims, criminal justice support to 30 victims, emergency legal advocacy to 28 victims, hospital and medical advocacy during forensic exams to 20 victims, information and referral to 145 victims, and support groups for 30 victims. Current estimates suggest as few as one in five sexual assaults will be reported to law enforcement and less than three percent will result in the conviction and incarceration of the perpetrator. Research documents that victims are far more likely to disclose their sexual assault to a friend or family member, and when these loved ones respond with doubt, shame, or blame, victims suffer additional negative effects on their physical and psychological well-being. The Start by Believing public awareness campaign (a program of End Violence Against Women International) is designed to improve the responses of friends, family members, and community professionals, so they can help victims to access supportive resources and engage the criminal justice system.

|--|

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** by the Sauk County Board of Supervisors, met in regular session, that Sauk County supports the Start by Believing public awareness campaign and does hereby declare the first Wednesday of April each year to be Start by Believing Day throughout the Sauk County.

For	consideration	by th	e Sauk	County	Board	of Su	pervisors	on M	arch 20	. 2018
1 01	Combiacianion	U , u	ic Suuit	Count	Doma	01 5 4	PCITIOLIS	011 111	ui Cii 20	, _010

Respectfully submitted,

## CRIMINAL JUSTICE COORDINATING COUNCIL

WILLIAM F. WENZEL	MARTY KRUEGER
CLARK PETTERSEN	ANNETTE KUHLMANN
AMY DELONG	DAN BRATTSET
JEFF BINDL	LEWIS LANGE
JERRY STRUNZ	ELLEN ALLEN
JAY ENGLUND	WENDY J.N. KLICKO
LEONIE DOLCH	KEVIN CALKINS

## **EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE**

MARTY KRUEGER, Chair	JOAN FORDHAM
WALLY CZUPRYNKO	WILLIAM HAMBRECHT
DENNIS POLIVKA	_

**Fiscal Note:** No fiscal impact. **MIS Note:** No information systems impact.