**RESOLUTION #** 

Resolution to: Support the Regional EDA Application for Economic Development District

## Resolution offered by the Economic Development Committee

Resolved by the Board of Supervisors of Sauk County, Wisconsin:

**BACKGROUND:** Showing support for the Regional EDA Application for Economic Development District.

Sauk County is located within the six-county proposed Madison Region Economic Development District (EDD) in South Central Wisconsin. In 2019, the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) submitted by MadREP was approved by the Economic Development Administration (EDA). The approved CEDS includes the six Wisconsin counties of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson, Rock, and Sauk, which together form the proposed Madison Region Economic Development District (EDD). Sauk County was an active participant in the completion of the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) submitted to the Economic Development Administration (EDA). Forty-one census tracts in the proposed Madison Region Economic Development District (EDD) (one of which is in Sauk County) have felt the impact of adverse economic conditions and meet at least one applicable measure of economic distress for unemployment and per capita income as provided in 13 C.F.R. § 301.3 for the 24-month period ending December 2022.

Sauk County believes that the designation of the Madison Region as an Economic Development District (EDD) will help to ensure full cooperation among stakeholders in the Region, along with sustainable economic development actions. The designation of Economic Development District (EDD) includes the counties and area communities located within the district as part of a framework that complements the CEDS and creates a path for communities in the region to get projects funded from grant and aid assistance available through the Economic Development Administration (EDA).

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Sauk County Board of Supervisors, as duly elected and authorized representatives of the people of Sauk County, do hereby support the designation of the six-county Madison Region, comprised of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson, Rock and Sauk Counties, as a federally designated Economic Development District under 13 C.F.R. § 304.

Approved for presentation to the County Board by the Economic Development Committee, this 17 day of October 2022

•			
Consent Agenda Item: [ ] YES [ ] N	10		
Fiscal Impact: [ ] None [ ] Budgeted Expenditure [ ] Not Budgeted			
Vote Required: Majority =	2/3 Majority =	3/4 Majority =	
The County Board has the legal authority to adopt: Yes No as reviewed			as reviewed by
the Corporation Counsel,		, Date:	

51 52	Offered and passage moved by:	
53 54	Ollered and passage moved by.	County Board Chair Tim McCumber
55		
56 57		Supervisor Bryant Hazard
58		
59 60		Supervisor Marty Krueger
61 62		Cuparisas Prenden Labr
63		Supervisor Brandon Lohr
64 65		Supervisor Carl Gruber
66 67		Supervisor Carl Gruber
67 68		Supervisor Bob Prosser
69		Capel Visor Bos 1 100001
70 71		Supervisor Mark "Smooth" Detter
72 73		·
73 74		
75 76	Figure 1 Notes	
76 77	Fiscal Note:	
78	MIS Note:	