## ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MINUTES

West Square Building, Rm 213

505 Broadway Street, Baraboo, Wisconsin

Monday, June 30, 2014

Members present: Marty Krueger, Donna Stehling, Peter Vedro, Nathan Johnson, Dennis Polivka, Dave

Riek, Brian Peper

Members absent: none

Others present: Kathy Schauf, Jenny Erickson, Maria Alvarez-Stroud, Bill Stehling

The meeting was called to order and certification of Open Meeting compliance was given at 6:30 p.m. The agenda was approved on a motion by Johnson, second by Polivka. Motion carried.

The meeting minutes from the prior meeting were approved on a motion by Stehling, second by Vedro. Motion carried.

## **Public Comment** None

<u>Communications</u> Chair Krueger shared a communication from Mark Aquino, State Department of Natural Resources that the purchase of rail line by the State from the Union Pacific is moving forward, with the acquisition moving to the Surface Transportation Board for approval.

## Discussion and consideration of strategies for Sauk County Broadband / next steps.

Tim Stieve reviewed the county fiber and information on existing providers and current rental agreements.

Five potential providers were identified as "gap" providers who may want to work with Sauk County. Discussion focused on the use of the business survey tool and getting the survey out to businesses in order to have base market information for presenting to potential "gap" providers.

## Tentative plan for moving forward includes:

July – develop plan; conduct research

August / September – conduct research and meet with gap providers

September / October – prepare application for PSC grant

Motion by Polivka, second by Riek to postpone the discussion of "Placemaking" to a future meeting. Motion carried.

Next meeting: July 24, 2014, 6:30 p.m. Outside agency requests. August 28, 2014, 6:00 p.m. Broadband report on rural areas and plans for moving forward.

Motion by Johnson, second by Stehling, to adjourn. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna Stehling

**Economic Development Committee Secretary**