SAUK COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS EXECUTIVE & LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE AND CONSERVATION, PLANNING, AND ZONING COMMITTEE Monday, August 5, 2013 – Room B30, West Square Building

Executive & Legislative (E&L) Committee members present: J. Fordham, J. Lane, M. Krueger, D. Stevens, W. Wenzel

Conservation, Planning, and Zoning (CPZ) Committee members present: J. Ashford, J. Dietz, F. Halfen, G. Lehman, D. Nobs, D. Polivka, R. Puttkamer

<u>Others present:</u> J. Allen, M. Aquino, L. Atkins, C. Bocast, D. Brusoe, W. Dietz, A. Duff, C. Fleishauer, J. Furchgott, R. Grant, M. Hansa, K. Hess, S. Holmes, T. Holmes, J. Holst, T. Knutson, T. Kriegl, E. Krumenauer, G. Lamberty, T. Liebman, T. Lins, A. Lombard, T. McCormick, C. Meine, B. Michalek, C. Nolden, R. Nurre, D. Ogren, F. Olah, L. Olah, P. Pohle, G. Robkin, D. Schmitz, T. Sheller, R. Sinklair, M. Solum, B. Stehling, D. Stehling, D. Wernecke, M. Wuest, P. Zajackowski

At 6:31 p.m. E&L Committee Chair Krueger called the Executive & Legislative Committee and the Conservation, Planning, and Zoning Committee to order and certified to be in compliance with the Open Meetings Law.

<u>Election of chair for joint meeting:</u> Motion by Nobs/Wenzel to approve Krueger as the chair for the joint meeting.

Motion by Polivka/Ashford to close nominations for chair. Motion carried, all in favor.

Motion to approve Krueger as chair carried, all members in favor.

<u>Adopt agenda:</u> Motion by Lane/Ashford to approve the agenda. Motion carried, all members in favor.

Public comment: Comments were received by the following attendees:

Richard Grant Jane Furchgott Mimi Wuest Tim Lins Linda Atkins Gail Lamberty John Eric Allen Terrence McCormick Ed Krumenauer Patricia Kelly Mary Carol Solum Curt Meine John Holst Rob Sinklair Alison Duff Laura Olah Gene Robkin

Frank Olah Susan Holmes Bill Stehling

Public comment closed at 7:23 p.m.

<u>Communications:</u> Letter from Dave Tremble, President of The Sauk Prairie Conservation Alliance, which was presented by Gail Lamberty earlier in the meeting.

Town of Merrimac Resolution 2013-02A.

Alternative No. 4 from the Badger Oversight Management Commission.

<u>Presentation by State of Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources of Master Plan for Sauk</u> <u>Prairie Recreational Area:</u> Krueger provided background from the CPZ Committee meetings held in late October and November 2012, where there was consensus that the CPZ Committee would be involved when there were land use related matters and the E&L Committee for intergovernmental issues.

Mark Aquino introduced the DNR staff present at the meeting.

Diane Brusoe, DNR, presented on the three alternatives.

Todd Sheller, DNR, addressed shooting ranges.

Paul Zajackowski, DNR, addressed ATV trails.

Kris Hess, DNR, discussed the planning process, plan of utilization, and deeds.

Committee members had dialogue with the DNR staff.

Tom Kriegl commented.

<u>Discussion of next steps regarding the Master Plan for the Sauk Prairie Recreational Area:</u> The consensus was not to take any action at this time. Will wait until the public comment period is completed and revisit after that time.

Motion by Nobs/Ashford to adjourn at 9:08 p.m. Motion carried, all members in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Executive & Legislative Committee

Don Nobs, Secretary Conservation, Planning, and Zoning Committee