Members present:Marty Krueger, Peter Murray, Dave Riek, Don Stevens, Joel Gaalswyk, Gerald Lehman,
noneOthers present:Kathy Schauf, Dennis Polivka, Susan Tatar, Bill Mertens, John McKenna, Dave Radel,
Rick Livingston, Steve Koenig, Donna Stehling, Bill Stehling, Kevin Schilling, Chad
Ziegler, Adam Zierbel, Dennis Hutchison

The meeting was called to order and certification of Open Meeting compliance was given at 6:30 p.m. The agenda was approved on a motion by Stevens, second by Murray. Motion carried.

The minutes from prior meetings were approved on a motion by Gaalswyk, second by Stevens. Motion carried.

Public Comment

Bill Mertens: Spoke in favor of county forest concept.

John McKenna: Information on nitrates from Home News and Land and Water Resource Management Plan.

Communications

Minutes from the Rt. 30 Bicycle Trails in Wisconsin was distributed by Donna Stehling.

Business Items

Update by BugTussel / Hilbert Communications:

S. Schneider appeared to discuss breadth of service that has been achieved in Sauk County. They are behind projections but making steady progress. Demand still exists for services.

Update by the Trails Subcommittee:

D. Stehling reported on the meeting regarding US Bicycle Rt. 30. They are looking for multiple routes through Sauk County. M. Krueger updated that the appraiser for the UP line from Madison to Reedsburg has reported a figure of forty-one million for acquisition of the line.

Presentations on County Forest programs by Vernon and Monroe counties.

Representatives from both Vernon and Monroe County provided insights into the County forest programs established in their counties. The county forest program is 75 years old, and has 29 counties enrolled. 1,200 acres of Sauk County land would qualify for the county forest program. State reimbursement is dependent upon acreage. Both Vernon and Monroe counties used the county forest program to leverage resources in providing an array of related services in their respective counties.

Next regular meeting: November 28, 2011 at 6:30 p.m.

Motion by Gaalswyk, second by Murray, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Donald Stevens Economic Development Committee Secretary