JOINT FINANCE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE MINUTES

Room 213, West Square Building, Baraboo WI

Friday, March 09, 2012

Finance Committee Members present: Steve Bach, Tommy Lee Bychinski, Joan Fordham, Jason Lane, William F. Wenzel Personnel Committee Members present: Andrea Lombard, Jason Lane, Tim Meister, Henry Netzinger, Peter Tollaksen Others present: Kerry Beghin, Kathy Schauf, Marty Krueger, Todd Liebman, Michelle Posewitz, Liz Geoghegan, Judy Stoeckmann, Cathy Warwick, Cindy Bodendein, Peter Murray, Judy Ashford, Patrick Dederich

The meeting was called to order by Finance Committee Chairperson Bychinski and Personnel Committee Chairperson at 2:00 PM. Certification of open meeting compliance was given. Motion by Tollaksen to nominate Bychinski to serve as chair of the joint meeting, second by Fordham. Motion by Tollaksen to close nominations and unanimously elect Bychinski, second by Wenzel. Motion carried.

Motion by Tollaksen to adopt the agenda, second by Netzinger. Motion carried.

Public Comment: None.

Consideration of resolution authorizing Elected Officials Salaries for the 2013-2016 (County Clerk, Register of Deeds, Treasurer and Surveyor) Term of Office.

Motion by Bach, second by Wenzel to separate the Surveyor position from the County Clerk, Register of Deeds and Treasurer. Motion carried. The Committee members discussed the differences between an elected, appointed or contracted surveyor position and statutory requirements. The Planning & Zoning Committee wants to clarify duties expected within annual salary versus additional tasks that could be billed for on an hourly basis. If an elected all-inclusive salary was adopted, the Surveyor could bill additionally for court ordered or County Board ordered surveys and could also collect for monumentation and remonumentation under the bounty program. Motion by Meister, second by Netzinger to contract the position. Vote called: Finance Committee: Bach-Nay, Bychinski-Nay, Fordham-Nay, Lane-Nay, Wenzel-Nay. Personnel Committee: Lane-Nay, Lombard-Nay, Meister-Aye, Netzinger-Aye, Tollaksen-Nay. Motion failed.

Motion by Bychinski, second by Tollaksen to set the base salary at \$8,879 and the hourly rate for additional work at \$60.00 per hour. Vote called: Finance Committee: Bach-Aye, Bychinski-Aye, Fordham-Aye, Lane-Aye, Wenzel-Aye. Personnel Committee: Lane-Aye, Lombard-Nay, Meister-Nay, Netzinger-Nay, Tollaksen-Aye. Motion failed.

Motion by Tollaksen, second by Lombard to set the base salary at \$8,879 and the hourly rate for additional work at \$51.00 per hour. Vote called: Finance Committee: Bach-Aye, Bychinski-Aye, Fordham-Aye, Lane-Aye, Wenzel-Aye. Personnel Committee: Lane-Aye, Lombard-Aye, Meister-Aye, Netzinger-Nay, Tollaksen-Aye. Motion carried.

Committee members discussed other counties' known adjustments for the next term of office. Motion by Lane, second by Bach to approve a change of 0% for 2013, 0% for 2014, 1% for 2015, and 1% for 2016. Further, the health insurance contribution should be 88% by the County and 12% by the elected official and the elected officials should contribute the employee's share of retirement, all effective at the start of the term of office. Vote called: Finance Committee: Bach-Aye, Bychinski-Aye, Fordham-Aye, Lane-Aye, Wenzel-Aye. Personnel Committee: Lane-Aye, Lombard-Aye, Meister-Aye, Netzinger-Aye, Tollaksen-Aye. Motion carried.

Consideration of recommendation to combine Finance and Personnel Committees.

Committee members discussed creating a combined, seven member committee. Supervisor Murray expressed concern over loss of checks and balances if the committees were combined, as well as believing there should be no more than one Executive & Legislative member on either committee and no committee should have a quorum of any other committee. Concentration of power was discussed, as well as possible increase in personnel duties with changes in bargaining units. Overall consensus was to keep committees separate.

Motion by Tollaksen to adjourn the meeting, second by Netzinger. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Fordham Finance Committee Secretary Andrea Lombard Personnel Committee Secretary