Where To Apply:
- Partners may only apply at the County Clerk’s Office in the county where at least one of the applicants has resided for 30 days prior to the date of application.
- Both partners should appear together to the County Clerk’s Office to apply.
Where To Apply In Sauk County:
- Sauk County Clerk's Office, Sauk County West Square Building
505 Broadway, Room #144, Baraboo, Wisconsin.
- 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
(Closed Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays and the day after Thanksgiving)
- The average time to apply is approximately 30 minutes.
Who May Apply:
- Partners must be 18 years of age, unmarried and not currently in a legal domestic partnership with another party.
- Partners must be of the same sex. (Chapter 770, Wis. Stats.)
No parties closer than second cousins, whether by whole, half blood or by adoption, may form a domestic partnership in Wisconsin.
Partners who were legally married to each other in another state may form a domestic partnership in Wisconsin.
There is no waiting period between a divorce or annulment from a former spouse and application for a declaration of domestic partnership.
Fee due at time of application: EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013 - $80.00, payable by check or cash
Application for a declaration of domestic partnership shall be made at least five (5) days before a declaration can be issued, unless a waiver of this waiting period has been granted.
A waiver of the five day waiting period may be granted by order of the County Clerk for any of the reasons outlined in Chapter 770 of the Wisconsin State Statutes. An extra fee of $10.00, payable by check or cash at the time of application, is charged for a waiver of the (5) day waiting period.
There is no expiration date for the application or for the filing of the declaration of domestic partnership; however, the domestic partnership does not become effective until the date the declaration is filed at the Register of Deeds Office. Certified copies of a Declaration of Domestic Partnership can be obtained from the Register of Deeds office in the county where it is filed.
Identification Of Parties:
- Photo identification required.
- Each party is required to present proof of where they live in the form of a driver's license, a state issued identification card, mail, rent or mortgage receipt, checking account, savings account or utility statement.
- Each party is required to provide current (non-expired) photo identification in the form of a driver’s license, a state issued identification card, a government issued identification card or passport.
- Wisconsin State Statutes require all parties to present a state certified copy of a birth certificate:
- Photocopies cannot be accepted: Per Wisconsin State Statutes §69.24, it is illegal to make photocopies of any vital record, doing so carries a fine of $10,000.00.
- Hospital and baptism certificates cannot be accepted.
- Social security number.
- A copy of a prior divorce proceeding, state certified death certificate or State annulment papers affecting the last marital status; or documentary proof of how the last legal domestic partnership ended. If a prior legal domestic partnership was terminated, the termination must have been filed with the Register of Deeds office at least 90 days prior to the new application.
Vital Records Information:
Birth or Death records in the State of Wisconsin: Register of Deeds Office in the county where birth or death occurred, or go to: www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords
Divorce Judgment records in Wisconsin: Clerk of Courts Office in the county where the event
occurred or go to: www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords
Birth, Death and Divorce Judgment records in another State: www.cdc.gov/nchs
Termination of Domestic Partnership records: Register of Deeds Office in the county where the Certificate of Termination of Domestic Partnership occurred or: www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords
NOTE: Other than page 3, confidential information, the domestic partnership application is a public record.